Building a portable cabinet with good low end.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by 6L6, Apr 18, 2005.

1. 6L6

Apr 7, 2005
    Has anyone built a easy to carry
    speaker that can handel the B string ?
    Any good DIY ideas ?
    SPL should be enough for practice
    with a band or playing in a bar.
  2. I wish you luck. The 1rst law of speaker building says you can have...

1. Good frequency response
    2. High effeciency

3. Small size

You may pick any two, but you can't have all three.
  3. I agree. You may be able to come up with a good comprimise if you build a two way cab with a carefully chosen 12 and a 6 to carry the mids that would be lacking in any quality low frequency 12.
  4. msquared

Sep 19, 2004
    Kansas City
    I am a big fan of the idea of "horribly inefficient but deep as hell", a la Acme's gear. I've been playing around with design ideas in WinISD for a few months now, and after playing with a number of different drivers, my favorite is turning out to be the 12" Dayton Titanic Mk3.

According to WinISD, this driver in a sealed box the size of a Berg HT112 (17.5x15x13) will give you a -3db frequency of around 36Hz. Group delay when hitting a low B is around 7ms. I haven't gotten around to building one yet but if my HT112 ends up having low end issues, this is going to be the first route I take.
  5. The Clap

The Clap

Jan 5, 2004
    Scottsdale, AZ
    You'll find that that's futile in the end. Acme's stuff may be rated at the low end of the sensitivity spectrum, but it's still worlds louder than that sub. Pro Audio speakers are rather different than car audio/home audio speakers, and that sub will hardly make appreciable levels of sound in a room of moderate size. Speakers that go that low in that small of a box (and don't cost upwards of a thousand dollars) don't have the efficiency to be useful live.