building first bass -- suggestions?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by schuyler, Aug 29, 2003.

1. schuyler

Aug 5, 2003
    Atlanta, GA
    hi there everyone! i'm about to begin building my first bass and thought i'd ask for some suggestions for the body. here's the plan so far:

4 string fretless
    wenge neck-through (2 part laminated, quartersawn orientation)
    cocobolo fingerboard, 16" radius
    bartolini j-bass pickup set, wired like a j-bass (2 vol, 1 tone)
    schaller clover tuners, 2 on a side

the big undecided is what to use for the body wings. i set aside some bubinga i have, but am also considering jatoba or goncalo alves. i want something rather dense and heavy, and i don't mind working difficult woods (i'm a woodworker by trade), but i don't want to stain the wood (i like the natural colors).

also, any guidance on the merits of bone vs. delrin for the nut would help me out a lot. i'm starting the work as soon as all the hardware arrives, so i will post some progress pics if anyone is interested.

thank you!
  2. I would love to see the progress pics.

As for the body wings, bubinga seems like a good choice, but as always, it is up to you.

3. FBB Custom

FBB Custom TalkBass Pro Commercial User

Jan 26, 2002
    Owner: FBB Bass Works
    I have done bubinga and goncalo wings. Goncalo is maybe a little more distinctive. Never have I used delrin, but of course bone is pretty much the industry standard.
  4. j-raj

j-raj Bassist: Educator/Soloist/Performer Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 14, 2003
    Atlanta, GA!

If you would like Jami and I could come over from time to time and snap shots for you, post for this thread... Just give me a buzz and we would love to help where we can.

Is it gonna be a Jazz Bass shape? Based on the Black JB Plus?
  5. schuyler

Aug 5, 2003
    Atlanta, GA
    j-raj and hambone both requested these, so...