Building my first bass

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by bearcubs9497, Sep 25, 2005.

1. This is my first attempt at building my own bass. This isn't an attempt to save money, but rather a labor of love, as well as a chance to learn and to make an instruement that is uniquely my own.

That said, I've got a MIM Jazz body that I won in a bid on ebay. The routing cavity has been shielded with copper foil (a neatly done job, too). I've measured the neck pocket and it's just a hair under 2-1/2 inches (2-7/16, to be exact).

I've been to the allparts web site and have made the following list of things to buy for this project:

1. (the JMF-BB neck with black block inlays and binding)

2. (the white pearloid pick guard)

3. (the genuine Fender chrome control plate)

4. (the chrome Gotoh bridge)

5. (the pre-slotted genuine Fender Jazz Bass nut)

6. (the standard wiring kit for a Fender Jazz bass)

7. (the Vintage style Jazz Bass knobs)

I've a Samick Greg Bennett Fairlane FN-1 bass that has an amazingly good sounding (and quiet!) set of single coil pups that I'd like to use. I called up Samick on Friday and was told by a guy named Rob (one of their techies) that the pups are Seymour Duncan designed and were their version of the Hot-for-Jazz model. I was also given the impression that Samick actually owns Seymour Duncan (I've no idea how to independantly verify this claim). Anyway, the pups on my Fairlane are exactly what I'm looking for in terms of tone.

Other than tuners, what else might be missing from this list? Do you guys have better suggestions for parts, or opinions concerning my selection? Also, as an aside, I do have some moderate wood working skills, but know nothing about wiring pups (was gonna have my dad do that, as he's an electrical engineer).
  2. sDg

Feb 26, 2003
    Wise, Virginia