Building My First Custom bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by mcdade, May 1, 2005.

1. mcdade

Sep 27, 2004
    London (UK)
    Hi All,

Names Robbie(28) from the UK,im a toolmaker by trade and a keen bassist.Ive been looking at having a custom bass built for me over the last couple of years.Im having a 5 string singlecut made for me by Grandon at ,but thought i would build my own 4 string fretless.

The specs are,

Ebony FB
    maple/mahogany neck 5 piece
    Black walnut body wings
    Rear maple tone block
    Crotch Mahogany top
    Bassculture pickups
    My own custom tailpiece and bridge
    Classical style headstock

Ive been in touch with a few great luthiers on this site about them building me a bass,JP at JP basses and Matt at FBB.I would like some feedback on this bass and thanks for the inspiration for this bass.

Look out for RM Basses,as it looks like I might have my first custom order.

2. Bassic83

Jul 26, 2004
    Texas, USSA
    That's your first bass? Hmmmph. You could do better than that now, if you just put a little attention to detail and such... ;)

Seriously, that's just sick! Great design, awesome machine work, and the crotch mahogany looks like it's two feet deep! Love to see the finished product! Phenomenal! :D
  3. JSPguitars

Jan 12, 2004
    Grass Valley
    That's awesome! I really like the overall design. The headstock design (using the classical approach is wonderful)...the body design, the wood choices are great.
    How does she sound? Got a name for her yet?
    Gret job on the machining of the bridge and tailpiece, wish I could do that kind of work.
    Keep it up! Love to see more.
  4. mcdade

Sep 27, 2004
    London (UK)
    The Bass sounds nice and clear without the pickups in,fingers crossed she should be a nice bass.As far as names go,Im not sure maybe you guys could help me out with a name.
    I'll get some sound clips up as soon as she is finished. :bassist:
  5. andvari7

Aug 28, 2004