Building my First Custom Fretless

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mcdade, Apr 30, 2005.

1. mcdade

Sep 27, 2004
    London (UK)
    Hi All,

Names Robbie(28) from the UK,Im a Toolmaker by trade and a keen bassist.Im currently building my very first bass from scratch,Its neraly finished now just waiting for the pickups from Chris at Bassculture in germany to be finished.

Ive gone for a singlecut design with a classical style headstock,the specs are as follows,

Ebony FB
    Maple/mahogany 5 piece neck
    Black Walnut side wings
    Crotch Mahogany Bookmatched Top
    Rear Maple tone block
    classical style headstock with crotch Veneer and rear wenge cap.
    Bassculture Splitbucker Pickup with passive wiring.
    My own Custom made tailpiece and bridge.
    Tung Oil finish

Some feedback would be great and its my Birthday today also

MAJOR METAL HARVESTER OF SORROW Staff Member Supporting Member

Hi Robbie

That is a very interesting instrument you have designed and built i particularly like the headstock. How much time did it take building it?.All the best.
  3. Papersen

Papersen Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2002
    I find it original.
    That Mahogany top is really cute.
    From the photo perspective, the body looks huge.
    Do you find it comfy to play seated and stood up ?

Anyway, I think you did a superb job making your first bass.

P.S: try to post some clips if you can.
  4. It looks like a bastard child of a Ritter and something else. Very cool.
  5. i like the design, very unique, were are the PUs?
  6. That is excellent, a true custom! Not a part from here part from there! I love the headstock and wow well im very impressed.
  7. I was guessing it had piezos in the bridge...but then I realized there's no output jack (or I can't see one, at least). Robbie, the bass looks GREAT (neat design, too!), but did you, uhm, forget one of the most important parts?
  8. Warwick player

Warwick player

Dec 31, 2002
    Bucks, UK