Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Building my own still!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Ob1, May 8, 2003.

1. I've been brewing beer for a couple of yrs, and now I'm gonna take the next step! I found these plans on a brewing/destilling site:

[​IMG]

And got the tubes (copper) I need and now theyre ready for soldering! Total costs so far : 4€ (~$4) :D

Has anyone else experimented with destilling?

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    I left a hansen's mango madness drink out for a while once, and it fermented

3. Similar thing hapened to me when i left a Sobe in my high school locker for a month.

4. bill h

bill h

Aug 31, 2002
    small town MN
    I too have brewed lots of beer and want to make a still. I looked all over the net and did not find to much. The best info that I've found was at the Library. They had a much better plan then the one you show there. hope this helped

5. ARA punk

ARA punk

Jul 11, 2001
    USA, Shelby, NC
    lemme know how it turns out. I've brewed wines and beers before under the mask of a "highschool biolgy experiment". Never distilled though. Hope it works for you.

6. i dont drink as im only 16 but me and my uncle has made 3-4 plastic versions of those and they are quite fun to watch because you can see everything doing what it does, it takes what like a month or two? fun stuff watching it all change.

7. baba

baba Supporting Member

Jan 22, 2002
    3rd stone from the sun
    I'm a diehard homebrewer but I've never ventured in to distillation techniques. Although they allowed homebrewing around '76 I believe stills are still illegal.

What I do know from chemistry: do NOT go above 95% (%, not proof). Anything beyond that and benzene and other toxins are present. This is what causes the blindness you hear about from moonshine.

8. OnederTone