Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Building your own effects

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by degroove, Mar 12, 2003.

1. degroove

degroove

Jun 5, 2002
    Wilmington, DE
    First, I need some reassurance!

I have No electrical experience whatsoever. I have been reading books on guitar electronics, visiting sites about electric theory, and bought myself a multimeter.

I ordered a book called Electronics by Harry Kybett.

I will next get a soldering iron. What other tools will I need?

My questions to Do-it-yourselfers - is this seemingly technical task doable if I am willing to learn about how this stuff works?

Are effects very complicated?
    And
    What are good ones to start with. I know of Aaron's DIY page.Lots of good stuff.

2. bassackwards

bassackwards Member

Dec 16, 2002
    OREGON
    http://www.paia.com
    They have kits and a good book on how to build them. I made the Bass Fuzz and it works real good and was pretty easy to make.

3. degroove

degroove

Jun 5, 2002
    Wilmington, DE
    WAYY COOL. ABout $30 for the Bass Fuzz.

How did it sound? Would you recommend the book
    Electronic Projects for Musicians Book?

4. Paul A

Paul A

Dec 13, 1999
    Hertfordshire U.K!
    I started off just building effects for myself, then word got round and it's almost become a mini home industry.
    Finished a "fuzz face" clone for a gu***rist yesterday,delivered it to him at a rehearsal last night.
    Sounded incredible!
    Go for it, you'll get a lot of satisfaction from it.
    You are lucky being in the U.S. - you can get ready made printed circuit boards from various websites. - I have to make them myself!
    :eek:
    www.lazyfinger.com is good for pcb artwork and layouts.

5. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member