Bunny Brunel and Stanley Clarke Bridge Adusters

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by BassGuirl, Jan 3, 2003.

1. BassGuirl

Jan 3, 2003
    Hi all,

This is my first time in this room. I'm excited! I have a question. I was thinking about getting bridge adjusters to lower my strings as close to the neck as a bass guitar. Can anyone back me up on this? Is this a bad idea?

I'm assuming that both Bunny and Stanley play like this, so that's why I'm doing it. Of course, their basses are like $50,000 dollars, and mine is about 1/50 the price. I'm worried. What should I do?

I love all of Stanley and Bunny's techniques. They are just so unique. That is why I would love to try them, but my strings are too high. I was assuming they lowered their strings, but uhh... anyone know how low? I heard that Bunny lowers them as low as a bass guitar. I would not be surprised. The guy wears lee press on nails to avoid blisters. I love bass players who are able to express themselves and be comfortable at the same time:)

2. Sam Sherry

Sam Sherry Inadvertent Microtonalist Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2001
    Portland, ME
    Euphonic Audio "Player"
    You've landed in a great spot!

One of the repeated themes for newly-landed folk is, "Check those Newbie Links that Brother Durrl has set up." They have a wealth of information. If you scope the "Setup" index, which is http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=43376 you'll find threads about "lowering action" "volume" "volume" and the like.

I share your enthusiasm for Stanley Clarke's DB playing. I'm not so sure his action was extremely low -- if you listen to Chick's Light as a Feather, Armando's Rhumba off My Spanish Heart or Stan's first solo album, Children of Forever, you'll hear that he's digging in pretty hard and can obviously get a solid acoustic sound.