1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Burning sulphur is the only scent that you can never get use to

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by 00Funk, Jul 25, 2007.

1. 00Funk

00Funk Banned

Jul 17, 2006
    Dallas TX
    I didnt know that. Did you ? They say every other scent, you can eventually adjust to. Not burning sulphur though.
    Interesting.

2. millahh

millahh Supporting Member

Sep 20, 2005
    Hoboken
    Curious.

As a chemist, I'm pretty sure I've encountered a couple of other smells that I can't imagine getting used to (pyridine being foremost among them).

Where'd you find this? I'm curious to have a look.

3. ROON

ROON

Aug 5, 2006
    Sydney, Australia
    Ever been to Rotorua in New Zealand? Seriously, you get used to it after a while.

4. dlloyd

dlloyd zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Apr 21, 2004
    Scotland
    I don't believe it for a second.

Carbon disulphide comes to mind. Butyric acid also.

5. My wife had the inside of her nose cauterized:eek: w/some sort of archaic iron implement of torture when she was 12, to combat frequent nosebleeds. The smell eventually went away, but had it not, I don't think she would have gotten used to it...

6. ROON

ROON

Aug 5, 2006
    Sydney, Australia
    Oh man... That must have sucked.

7. dlloyd

dlloyd zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Apr 21, 2004
    Scotland
    I had it done when I was 11. I don't remember it being a big deal.

8. I've been married for 15 years and I can say my wife cannot get used to sulfer [​IMG]

9. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga