Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Busted! (Passing off midi as real bass).

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by XavierG, Sep 20, 2002.

1. I had a discussion with some "know-it-all" types some time ago. They suggested that there is no way to distinguish between midi bass and that played on a bass guitar. Mind you, I'm no expert by any means, but I told them (very politely) that they were full of it. So, I thought I'd conduct an experiment. I posted a midi version of "Donna Lee" which I downloaded from the net on a few forums, as well as here at Talkbass. What I found is that most non-bassists can't tell the difference. Bassists on the other hand, are a suspicious breed. I was found out on 2 other forums, and most recently, here in the Recordings forum by Wrong Robot who accurately implies that the mp3 which I posted in his "Donna Lee" post is a fake. The question I have is, if it's only us bassists that can tell the difference, are we expendable? Does anyone else care that the bassline may not have originated from a stringed instrument?

2. In my History of Jazz class, there are people who can't tell apart a soprano saxophone and a clarinet. We shouldn't feel too bad.

3. WildBill

WildBill

Jul 7, 2002
    Massachusettes
    If I was a artist (guitarist, singer, drummer) instead of a bassist Id rather have someone that knows about basslines and what sounds good and have the options of different tones than some computer.

4. oddentity

oddentity

Nov 20, 2000
    Philly
    I they're fairly easy to tell apart, especially if there are no other instruments in the song.

That said, I don't think there's anything wrong with using synth bass if that's what the composer has in mind. It all depends on what the song calls for. So I'd say we're not expendable.