Buy a bass amp or go from a direct box to a JBL Eon 15 G2?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by phoenix, May 22, 2003.

1. phoenix

May 22, 2003
    Hi, this is my first post here. I'm primarily a guitarist but I've got some gigs lined up where I'll be playing bass as well as acoustic and electric guitar. I have a Fender American Deluxe Jazz Bass, but I don't have a bass amp at the moment. It would lighten my load considerably if I could run both my bass and my acoustic guitar through a JBL 15" G2 cabinet instead of buying a real bass amp. What if I used an ART Tube MP as a direct box and went straight to the JBL? (I have an Aphex parametric EQ and could do some sound shaping with that for the bass too, if needed.) Or would it sound a lot better if I got a real bass amp? If so, what amp would you recommend? I'm playing mostly classic rock and blues. Thanks a lot!
  2. I'm sure the JBL would sound OK for bass and acoustic guitar. Given your gig, it would probably make for a good solution. Could something else sound better for bass. Sure a good bass amp is going to sound better than the EON with a pre-amp. However a real bass amp may not work as well for your acoustic. Go into a music store, hook up a bass pre-amp of sorts to a EON and try it out. As for a bass pre-amp, I'd just get a SansAmp Bass Driver DI to run into the EON. jmho
  3. jokerjkny

Jan 19, 2002
    NY / NJ / PA
    I'm guessing that the JBL self powered, so you'll need a powerful enough preamp that can drive enough signal to the power amp section of the speaker.

IMHO, i dunno if the ART Tube MP will put out enough headroom to make you happy. IMHO, the Tube MP is more for line boosting and matching.

but, any good rackmount vocal mic pre should do the trick. a great one is Raven Labs Universal preamp. two rack, with more than enough features. very clear sounding, and great for all instruments. Raven Labs is the same company that acoustic fingerstyle great, Lawrence Juber, endorses.