Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Buy A Drum Machine (Boss DR660) OR Computer Software?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by mz91, Sep 16, 2003.

1. Drum Machine (Boss DR660)

7 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Software

7 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. mz91

mz91

Apr 19, 2002
    Zug, Switzerland
    I could buy a boss dr660 but i am not sure that its worth it especially with all the computer software around. So what do you think? Or which do you prefer?
    thanks.
    Michael :bassist:

2. HooBass

HooBass

May 27, 2003
    NC
    I've abstained from voting as I'm not experienced with the drum machine in question.

However, I currently am a big fan of my software-based drums. I like to be able to SEE the MIDI information in the grid on my screen, be able to point, click, edit, copy/paste, drag/drop, etc. I have been very satisfied with my drum lines (although I'm far from prolific).

Some disclaimers -- I'm wondering if what I'm using is technically "computer software drums" -- Am using Cubase to drive the synth on my computer's soundcard. I'm also not a drummer so I've always wondered if what sounds great to me sounds bad to a drummer! Also, my comparison of drum machines versus "computer-based" is a bit dated. My drum machine is an HR-16 from '89. Finally, I've not heard the samples from other, later equipment nor from software synths to judge that aspect of quality.

3. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    A drum machine has one huge advantage: it works WITHOUT a computer.

I see the appeal of letting your PC be a sampler, a synthesizer, a drum machine, a multitrack recorder, CD burner, etc. but unless it's a laptop you have to work wherever the PC is.

I guess it comes down to what your application is.

4. Phantasm

Phantasm I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For.

Sep 16, 2002