1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Buy a second bass or . . .?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jhass, Mar 8, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Jhass

Jhass

Dec 21, 2013
    I think I already know the answer to this one, but I'd love to hear others' opinions. I've been studying bass seriously for a few years now, having played classical guitar (and some bass) before that, and, way before that, having been a very serious (and pretty darn good) trombonist for years and years. So yeah, I'm a musical guy, and I'm picking up the bass reasonably fast, although I still absolutely consider myself an intermediate level player. I'm not gigging regularly, but I do play a lot and I am in two bands.

I'm lucky enough to be taking lessons from an amazing teacher who is also a brilliantly talented bass player. My budget is limited at the moment (damn those college tuition payments), so I do one lesson per month.

I play a Lakland Skyline P-bass. It is an excellent axe. I love it. But as we all know, there are lots of different types of basses in the world, and many of them have more tonal versatility than a p-bass. I have a birthday that ends in a zero coming up in about 9 months, and, naturally, I've thought about buying a second bass, maybe a used Lakland 44-14 or something like that.

Here's my question (sorry for the long introduction): is my limited budget better spent on a second bass, or on additional lessons (like stepping up to weekly lessons)? My right brain is lusting after a new bass, while my left brain is telling me that I will ultimately benefit more from investing in lessons.

So, what say you all?

BlueMINI likes this.
  2. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Supporting Member

I say this is one of the most reasonable purchase decision threads I've ever stumbled into for starters.