Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Buy any Rotosounds lately?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Mazinger, Mar 25, 2004.

1. Mazinger

Mazinger Supporting Member

Nov 9, 2002
    USA
    Specifically the RS66LD.

I always though these had the red wrappings on both ends.
    I bought one set recently and it didn't have the wrapping.
    Did someone switch the strings in the package or is this how they are now?

2. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    Last time I bought some was August, and they had blue silks.

3. sethlow3

sethlow3 Supporting Member

Jun 19, 2003
    Nashville, Tennessee
    last time I bought a set one string broke right away. I've been playing 5 hrs a day for 6 years and they used to be reliable. But rotosounds have been anything but reliable lately for me.....

But dang do they sound good.....

4. The last Swingbass I bought had has red silks and the nickels has blue silks. They are still one of my all time favorite bass strings. I like the stainless on Alder body and nickel on Ash body basses.

5. Corwin81

Corwin81

Mar 18, 2003
    Ames, IA
    I got the Swingbass long scales(even though I'm using them on my P and J), and they didn't have any silk wrapping. Got em from Guitar Center if that makes any difference. They sound good on the P though. Haven't strung em on the J yet(waiting to get my MEC pickups soldered in and bridge changed(when it arrives).

6. Mazinger

Nov 9, 2002
    USA
    I got mine at a Guitar Center too. I was just a bit curious since I've been using these strings for years and they have always had red silks. The string also looked a bit shiny, it wasn't that typical dull look of the rotos.

7. I just swapped an old pair off my fretless J, and put em' on my TBC.

I'll probably end up stringing both of them with em'.