Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

buy or not?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by let_your_soulfly, Nov 27, 2000.

1. let_your_soulfly

let_your_soulfly

Jul 28, 2000
    Toronto
    hey fellow bass players,
    can someone please help me out. could you go to the classifieds under bass for sale(on this site not a local paper) and go to the conklin 7 string cheap thread. it should be like the 6th one down. could anyone tell me if this is a good buy and if i should take the challenge of a 7 string. i consider myself around intermediate and ive been playing for 2-3 years. thanks a bunch!mean it!!

2. I have been playing bass for about 6 yrs now on my 4 string p bass copy. I usually practice four to six hours a day on it and I have just started to look for a good quality five string or just maybe even a six. I would recommend that you stay on the 5 string that you have or maybe even buy a cheap four stringer for like 50 bucks at a tag sale or sumthin to get really good at. Than move up from there. Just my oppinion. ~ Marty

3. let_your_soulfly

let_your_soulfly

Jul 28, 2000
    Toronto
    thanks alot marty. appreciate the advice

4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

I must respectfully disagree with Marty on this one.

There is no need to step up to a 5, then a 6, etc.

If what you hear in your head requires a 2 string, get a 2 string.

If what you hear requires a 9 string fretless with 3 1/2 scale drone strings, go and get one of those(if you can find one;))

I went and bought a 6, never played one except at music stores but knew that was what I wanted for the progressive metal that I was playing, and took it on a gig the same week I bought it. I wouldn't necessarily recommend something this drastic, but, hey, it worked for me!