Buying a new bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sunrisewatcher, Mar 27, 2003.

1. sunrisewatcher

Mar 18, 2003
    Hi! I never play bass but I am a drummer and a guitarist (rhythm). I want to start learning bass just to get the hang of it but will continue to play/learn, jam with friends and possibly involve in a church band. I play rock/pop, funk and maybe R&B.

I have around $300-$400 to buy a bass, what's your suggestion? What are some model I should start looking? Probably this will be my only bass but no one knows. And I don't know whether I should get a 4-string or 5-string, please suggest.

My Taylor Big Baby is $280 and many would agree that it's the best one and the most outstanding for that price. I want to get the best one for the buck on my bass, too!

Please help. Thanks!

2. Sean Baumann

Sean Baumann Supporting Member

Apr 6, 2000
    Livin' in the USA
    Visit your local stores and play everything you can get your hands on. Feel and sound are very subjective, so only you know what you will like. Trust me, it's taken me somewhere around 10 basses (perhaps more) to get a bass that I am finally comfortable with. Since you are looking on the more inexpensive side, you should be able to find many options local. With that being said, you should also consider used gear. Take a bass player friend along for some help and/or opinions.
  3. 5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO