Buying an amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Phat Ham, Sep 7, 2000.

1. Phat Ham

Phat Ham

Feb 13, 2000
    Well I've decided to get an amp. I've pretty much set my mind on a 2x10 combo, seeing that I am a college student living in a dorm and space is at a premium. I really like the SWR Super RedHead and Eden Metro, but both are kind of expensive. I've tried the Ashdown 300W 1x15 combo, and it sounded ok. I got a price quote for the Ashdown 2x10 and all three of these amps were around the same price.
    Now I've heard all these great things about Carvin, and after reading all the posts here for the last 6 months I'm convinced I would be very pleased with a Carvin RC210 combo. I know it comes down to my personal tastes, but if there is anyone who has the RC210 and has compared it to the SWR, Eden, or Ashdown, could you please tell me how you felt about each amp. Thanks for any help you people might give me.
  2. I've used the Eden Metro before at a freinds house who owns a studio. We used it with a Ibanez SR800 and when we turned it past 5 you could hear your chest rumble. Lemme tell ya that thing has tremendous tone!! If I had that much money I would get that thing.
  3. Bernie

Dec 12, 1999
    Ive also heard good things about Carvin gear.Problem is ive heard the same about most everything else as well.Unless i can try something before i buy,i dont.Good luck!
  4. rmp5s

May 19, 2000
    When you said you wanted a good 210 combo, the first thing that popped into my head was the Carvin Red Line 210. That's probably what I'd buy, but it's expensive. I'm just saying.........I've never heard any of these, though.
  5. Phat Ham

Phat Ham

Feb 13, 2000
    The Carvin Red Line 210 combo is the RC210 that I wrote about in my original post.