Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Buying my first amp + cab... HELP!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by markus, Aug 8, 2005.

1. markus

markus

Jan 13, 2005
    OK so I've been playing the bass for 7 years now, played in a band since 4 years and in two weeks I'm starting a well respected music high school here in Sweden. The thing is, the only equipment I own is a bass (OLP MM) and some effects. I need to buy an amp and a cab. I've been playing a poooooooor poor Yamaha 4x10... I'm afraid I've f***ed it tho, and that I have to pay it too when I return it..

Anyway

In Sweden, we have a 25 % sales tax.... That's right... You heard it.. That results in EVERYTHING being waay more expensive than in the U.S.
    I've just come home from a months vacation in USA (east coast) and i was really schocked by seeing one set of Ernie ball strings for 19.99 (at sam ash), when in Sweden you can't find them for less than 50 bucks....
    So, in order to get a cheap setup, I'm gonna buy it from Germany. At first, the plan was to go down there with me dad and take it home by ourselves. When we phoned and checked what they had in store tho, we decided that one or two combos in stock isn't enough..
    So, I'm gonna order it from Germany instead... Then I have to pay the swedish tax, but still, we're talking a big difference in price.
    Tomorrow, I'm going to the biggest city here in sweden (Stockholm), to play all the amps I wanna try out, and when I've decided, I'll order it from Germany..
    I need your help with advices and all that...

What I'm looking for is a 4x10 cab and a good amp that can also handle a 1x15 for later upgrades.. My budget is around 15-1700 $ (that is for both)

Some brands I'm interested in are Warwick, Hughes & Kettner (dunno how big they are in USA), SWR and possibly ampeg (mainly the box)