1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

buying my first double bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Nathanvleugels, Nov 25, 2018.

1. Nathanvleugels

Nathanvleugels

Jan 24, 2014
    Belgium
    Hi

I'm thinking about buying a double bass and I find it all to be rather confusing...
    There seem to be a lot of cheap options and usually I hear people say I should buy a laminated one to start with, but I've been playing electric bass for a while and I have an electric double bass that I also gig with sometimes so I feel like I'm not a complete beginner.
    The big question is; what type of double bass should I buy? I don't have a lot of money and I usually don't mind the cheaper things even for gigs, but are laminated double basses decent enough to do small semi-professional gigs with?

If I save up for a while I'm thinking the absolute max I could spent on it would be €1500, so what are some good options for that price?

2. Yes

lurk and Chris204T like this.
  3. J_Bass

J_Bass

Feb 7, 2008
    Porto, Portugal
  4. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Scott Lynch and Nathanvleugels like this.
  5. Nathanvleugels

Nathanvleugels

Jan 24, 2014
    Belgium
    Thanks, this is indeed a very helpful article!

Chris Fitzgerald likes this.
  6. Acoop

Acoop Supporting Member

Feb 21, 2012