Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Buying my first jam / gig amp (PeaveyTKO)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Spikeh, Jul 25, 2005.

1. Spikeh

Spikeh Sex Strings

Hey all - I've been using a Peavey practice amp (20w I believe) for a few years now and I've decided I want something with a little more umph. Been reading up on Peavey TKOs and there's and old one going pretty cheap at the moment.

[​IMG]

What do you guys reckon to it (for garage jaming and possible future pub gigs), and what would it be worth in mint condition, second hand?

2. Depends what your playing (music wise) and what your up against, it might be fine, it might be drowned out, thing is, with bass 75 watts ( i think thats what the tko is ? ) isnt that much

3. wulf

wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    That was my first ever serious bass amp (I did have a small practise amp before hand but it was so poor that everything else about it is blotted from my memory!). In fact, I've still got it - I keep it at church where it's used by myself (when I can't be bothered to lug up my other gear) and anyone else playing bass. Since I've had it for 15+ years, I think I've had my money's worth from it!

Our church isn't the highest volume situation available but, back in the day, I also used it for a fair number of gigs at pubs, colleges and the like. I've no idea about the current going rate but if you're looking for solid and dependable that will get you through a few gigs before you need to upgrade it, I'd say it's definitely worth considering.

Wulf

4. Funky Tune

Funky Tune

Apr 28, 2005
    Puerto Rico
    put a Black Widow speaker in it and you have strong sound,and also if you can,buy a Peavy TNT,they are rock solid

5. Spikeh

Spikeh Sex Strings

I've been told it's 100W... but that's about it. I don't really wanna mod anything tbh...