Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Buying my first real bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by darkspec, Jun 16, 2004.

1. darkspec

darkspec

Jan 2, 2003
    Cleveland Ohio
    By real I mean a non-cheapo bass. Next friday I am purchasing a Traben 5 Pheonix in Blood Red. :bassist: I was wondering if anyone owns one of these yet? Do you guys think its worth the 600$? I know its no warwick or fodera but this bass will be my first real bass and Im kinda hesitant about spending this much on a bass considering I flip burgers for a living. Also, has anyone ordered from guitar asylum before? Any bad/good feedback for them? I see some good feedback on their site but im sure they wouldnt put the bad.

2. Never played one...but i kinda like the looks of them. They look real bad-a**.

If you are getting one make sure to post a review..id love to hear about how they are.

3. josh_m

josh_m

May 5, 2004
    Davie, Fl
    If you are cnsidering spending seriou smoney on a bass (everyones idea of serious is differant) you really should play the bass first, not just that bass in general but the exact bass you want to buy.

4. davepack

davepack Supporting Member

Jun 16, 2004
    Denver, CO
    You should DEFINITELY play the bass before you buy it. When you're shopping around...don't even worry about what brands/models you're looking at. Every bassist likes their bass to play/sound/feel different. Find the one that best fits what YOU like. Make sure you try them out through an amp that you know well...this way you can really HEAR what the bass is putting out. If you like the sound of a certain bass, but the action isn't the way you like it, ask them to change it...if they're not willing to do that before you buy it, go somewhere else. Basically just try everything before you buy...you might be surprised and find a perfect bass at a low cost!

5. Timbo

Timbo

Jun 14, 2004