1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Buzz issue when tone knob is turned up

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by citizenchris099, Jan 23, 2012.

1. First off let me start w/the standard "im a noob so forgive me" intro
    I have searched the forum looking for posts that sound like my issue and have learned quite a bit though I'm not sure how much any of it has to do with my specific issue. Also if this is in the wrong forum I apologize

Im using a Squire Affinity J-Bass and the Fender Rumble amp. It was a gift and I plan on getting a better bass/amp someday but for now I gotta go w/what I got.

My problem is simple, when I turn the tone knob up on my bass I get a pretty bad buzz. The amp does not buzz by itself. Only when the bass is plugged in and i turn the tone knob up do i get a buzz.

I know its not specifically something wrong w/my bass/amp as I've taken both to two other houses and no buzz at all. I've plugged the bass into another amp as well at one of my friends houses and no problem. At my friends houses I used the same 1/4 cable that I did at home as well.

So its obviously something to do w/my apartment. The question is what specifically.

Thanks for any and all assistance :)

2. old wiring, with bad grounds or no grounds at all will cause a hum.

3. SGD Lutherie

SGD Lutherie Banned Commercial User

Aug 21, 2008
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    You have bad grounds, and/or things like light dimmers in your house.

Shielding he bass will help reduce noise in your house, but it's the power outlets and not the bass or amp.

4. thanks so much for the replies :)

so i should google "shielding bass" or "bass shielding" ?

also will a power conditioner help at all?

5. SGD Lutherie

Aug 21, 2008
    Bloomfield, NJ