Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

buzzing on ibanez soundgear 200

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by i am nate, Jan 1, 2002.

1. hi everyone!
    i recently inherited an Ibanez SGR 200 4 string bass. problem is, is that theres a constant buzz when i plug it into any amp. it seems to be coming from one the knobs. i think its the treble or tone knob thingy mabobber (sorry im new to the world of bass). i talked to a guy at guitar center and he said hed adjust the truss rods, adjust the action, and clean the pods for 100$ plus new parts. i think this is alittle to much since i have a budget in single digits. is there any way i can do some of this stuff myself? the pickups are rusting (those little circles are basically rust) so i might have to replace them too. anywho, thanks for any help and what not. -nate

2. What amp are you playing through Nate?I had a SGR190 but played her through a little Ibanez 10watt practice amp....guess what?No matter what I played through that nasty lil amp she would buzz and hum and sound like poop.

I still have this problem with my EDC700.....buzzing/humming.I have found she is very fussy and needs to be at least 15-20 feet away to get minimal humm/buzz.Any closer and I have to seriously "downgrade" my tone i.e. roll off the bass/mid/treble to get a decent tone.Part of this I feel is due to her needing new high quality strings.

Good Luck
    Usul
    p.s. currently I am using a Crate BFX50 for amplification.The only time I have probs with noise/etc. is when I play the EDC through it....this could be the active electronics or the quality of the electronics that are in the Ibanez EDC700.I`ll leave that for more qualified minds to contemplate. :D

Usul

3. We have a serious case of bass-abuse here gentlemen... :(