Bypass protection Circuits / Seeking intact deep bass and Infrasound

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by MadScience, Apr 15, 2019.

1. MadScience

MadScience Supporting Member

Apr 15, 2019
    Bass Land
    Hi, i'm new to the form and this is my first post. Its a niche subject and i'm hopping for some guidance from some of you with experience.

I'm a soundsystem junkie and looking to get into effects pedals.
    My problem is the high pass circuits built into effects pedals and such that protect your gear from DC signals and very low frequencies... because that is what i'm after. For me the bass and guitar started as just an extra toy to go with my sound system, then it all spiraled out of control from there. It all started when I saw an Ibanez GAX30 used for cheap. It felt right in my hands and then it all spiraled out of control from there as I started making it play better; tinkering with the setup, swapping out the nut & saddle, boring out space for a 5th pickup and bigger electronic cavity to try and do all the wiring mods at once. (But i'm learning to play in the process)

Here is some background on what i'm up to.
    I play through a homebuilt hotrod home theater setup with a DIY giant low tuned subwoofer capable of playing almost a whole octave lower than the bass you hear in movies and music; the mains for it are their own beast and out of scope for now.

With a shimmed nut and a really high action I tune a Bass that i have been working on as low as I can while still being somewhat playable; which is to about 26Hz which works out to a G#0. Imagine those car audio bass videos with the hair tricks but with a Bass instead. That's all fine and dandy but when i plug in a multi effects pedal like the Line6 FX100 it conservatively filters out all the low end rendering the subwoofer useless. It is even very noticeable with just the guitar. Basically there is a lot of beautiful low end to be had if you don't filter it out and play through a capable system.