1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

C extension breaking strings

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner [DB]' started by DuluthDank, Jan 4, 2018.

1. I just bought a new set of Thomastic Spiro middles, and was trying to get the extended E string up to pitch when it broke. My extension is the type without a wheel on top so it is basically string on wood, where the string has to make an almost 180 degree turn and pass through a hole in the scroll. I had used a pencil to apply graphite to the contact points before putting on the string, but even with that it seems to not have been enough. This is the second time this has happened with a Thomastic extended C (it happened last time when I tried to change the strings), and I've been using the same C string for about 5 years now, because apparently for whatever reason this Pirastro Permanant C can handle my extension where Thomastics can't. It's pretty darn frustrating seeing an over 100 dollar string becoming useless like that before it can even be used, and now I'm debating getting my extension removed so I no longer have to deal with it. I do like the notes and it would be a bummer to lose it (and pay to have it removed), so I'm wondering if there are any alternatives out there to removal. Perhaps there is a way to better prepare my extension before putting on the string than just graphite? Perhaps there is a way it can be modified? extension1. extension2.

2. LouisF

LouisF Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    Would graphite (lead pencil) help? I have no idea- just a question. I know it's done sometimes on bridges and nuts
    Louis

3. wathaet

wathaet

May 27, 2007
    You really should try to modify it for a wheel, but try a pvc tube (or similar) until then.