Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

C-G-D-A Tuning for 4 string fretted

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by Cfunk, Aug 17, 2000.

1. Cfunk

Cfunk

Aug 17, 2000
    Micheal & Steve, It is very cool that you guys share your experience and wisdom with us. Thanks. (If you have any questions on the business and economics of the Internet I would be happy to reciprocate. Sorry I don't pick stocks, a fool's errand in my opinion.)

I am relatively new to the bass and have certainly not mastered E-A-D-G tuning but the idea of focusing on C-G-D-A tuning appeals because my 4 string assumes the essential range of a 5 string (beyond with a hip-shot) and the chance to list Rostopovich as an influence.

I would welcome both your thoughts on the relative merits and negatives of C-G-D-A verses E-A-D-G and perhaps B-E-A-D as a primary (if not exclusive tuning I suspect it would take several life times of practicing before I could change tuning once in the middle of a song). If there is a better general purpose alternative tuning than what I have listed I am interested.

C-G-D-A is symmetrical which for us mortals is extremely helpful. I understand fifths verses fourths, seven verses five fret seperation, and the obvious impact on intervals. But what are the nuances ? A post I found stated that arpeggiated lines are easier and scalar lines more difficult. Some longer stretches but also more range from a single hand postion.

Are there any books or other sources of info C-G-D-A or other alternative tunings for fretted 4 string ?

I've sorted out the strings to have similar tension to medium EADG(.105-.045) I will use CGDA (.120-.040)

I would certainly appreciate your thoughts (and those of other Talkbass members) on the relative merits of C-G-D-A and focusing C-G-D-A as main tuning especially for relative new comer to the bass.

Thanks.

2. Cfunk

Cfunk