1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

CA9 users : rack cases

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Uziel, Aug 17, 2007.

1. Uziel

Uziel

Sep 2, 2003
    France
    in what rack case do you have your ca9 ? i cant find one deep enough...
    and, how do you rack de back of the amplifier ??

thx !

2. I have some experience with this... If you really want to rack that heavy sucker, the Mesa Boogie SUS-4 shock racks work fine and is plenty long enough, but it effectively doubles the carrying weight.

I put mine into a 2U SKB rotorack. It hangs out the back and is as ugly as all get out, but it has a handle for easy carrying and can stand in a vertical or horizontal position without adding much weight at all. I don't ever really need to look at it, so I stow it behind my cabinets on-stage.

3. Uziel

Uziel

Sep 2, 2003
    France
    thx for the reply oddio

the ca9 will be racked along with my (coming) TD1...
    how much weight your SUS4 with the STT1 and the CA9 ? is it the 22" version ?

4. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Gold Supporting Member

A standard SKB rack case (not the roto rack) of three or more spaces will fit a CA9.

I found out the hard way that the 2 space SKB will not work because it's 3/4" shallower than the others. By "not work", I mean that the rear lid will not close because the CA9 sticks too far out.

Some here have said that the Gator 2 space will work.

5. TD-1? Sweet! It's really an excellent matchup with the CA9.

The TD-1 with rack ears weighs almost the same as the STT-1. The SUS-4 I have is the 22" model with rear mounting rails, extra shocks (below the amp), wheels and a telescopic handle. In this configuration it weighs in at just below 100lbs with both the preamp and CA-9 installed.