Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Cab placement?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by shnapper, May 1, 2005.

1. shnapper

shnapper

May 1, 2005
    Az
    Hello,

I'm new to bass and this forum and I was curious if speaker placement is crucial?

For example: I have an ampeg B100R that I stacked on top of my gk 410 cabinet? Does it really matter that the 15inch woofer is off the ground and on top of the 4-10 inch woofers? I stacked it this way only because it works, is stable and saves me room.

I think it sounds good, I was just wondering if this was considered unorthodox?

Ps. I have a feeling some might mention or ask why a beginner has so much equipment? Well I've been playing 5 months and have already been called a freak of nature HAHAHHA! I sleep with my bass, I really love music and I'm happy to be here... :bassist:

2. I personally haev a 2x10 yokrville and a 1x15 and i put the 15 on the bottom simply because its easier, but by the looks of what you have you 4x10 looks bigger then ur other cab so it might be a little unbalanced if you put it on top

3. Im a sock

Im a sock

Dec 23, 2002
    Central MA
    For a home situation, cab placement isnt important. Live though, you may want to place them next to each other... having the 15 on the floor would lay down a little more bottom end.

You have more equipment than I do... and I've been playing for 9 years! :)

Also, welcome to Talkbass!

4. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    As a rule of thumb speakers for the bass frequencies should be placed as close as possible to a boundary (wall, floor or otherwise) and speakers for high frequencies as close as possible to ear height. Your setup is the reverse of that, but I wouldn't lose sleep over it.

5. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'