Cab Questions

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by cliffemall, Dec 11, 2003.

1. cliffemall

Dec 8, 2003
    Ok heres the deal. Ive been playing bass for some 3 years and change. Im origanally a pianist (9 years) so bass came to me like a shot. Probably comes from all the mozart, bhrams, etc. (those dead guys sure as hell can put your fingers to work) Anyway, apparantly many local bands think I'm good enough to help them, not only cover the bass untill they get a new bassist, but I've been asked to actually record for another bassist. (what an honor!)When this all came about I was playing a really good, but DEFINATLY NOT pro rig. Recently, ive gotten a virtually custom bass (this thing is sweet its a P/MM bass...warmth, punch and bite of a p-bass pup with the clarity, force,and just damn good sound of a MusicMan style MM:D)I got a Presonus tube pre with yes an original TELEFUNKEN smooth plate tube(why we bother with solid state i may never know...damn my dads generation)and all this runs nicely into my ampeg B2R. Ok heres what I need. NUMBER ONE THING IS TONE (lol duh no ****) I LOVE TOOL and "my tone" is a cross between Flea and the "tool-esque" style melodic riffs. Im also a fan of MASSIVE punch. I want lots of low end but i play a four string so i should be fine with a 4x10 i think? All said and done id love that new ampeg 4x10 (yeah the 1200 watt BEAST...anyone whos taken a trip to guitar center feels me here) but guess most 16 year olds im flat ass broke. I got a $300-$600(max) price range. I can obviously afford only 1 4ohm cab. (must b 4ohms to suck all 350 watts out my b2r) Ive looked at ameg, some swr, a used ashdown, and ive heard good things about yorkville and avatar. Right now im leaning twords the avatar 4x10 but what are yalls opinions/suggestions on the matter?
  2. icks

Jul 12, 2001
    Charleroi, Belgium
    try to find some used mesa boogie road ready
  3. TxBass

Jul 3, 2002
    Frisco, Texas