Cabinet building: Internal Padding Yes Or No?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MudgBass, Oct 27, 2003.

1. MudgBass

Oct 21, 2003
    Im currently cutting down my 2-15 cabinet and fabricting 1-15 and a 2-10 out of it. My question is should I use internal padding for it. It started out with what looked like regular insulation in it. I re-did it with carpet sub floor padding, now Im questioning whether it actually serves a purpose. This isnt a B.S. question.
  2. i think it serves a purpose dont destroy eveything
  3. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

I'm sure that some of our experienced cabinet builders in the Amps forum can answer this. I am moving it over there, since that is where these type of threads belong.
  4. xyllion

xyllion Commercial User

Jan 14, 2003
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Owner, Looperlative Audio Products
    I'm no expert but sound absortion material makes the cabinet behave as if it were a larger box. Generally some sort of fiber fill is used for this purpose. I'm not sure how well carpet padding will work. I suspect not well at all.

The other problem that you have is to find drivers with appropriate specs to match your box. Drivers don't work well at all if not matched to the right size box.
  5. Rules of thumb for stuffing cabs:

-closed or ported subwoofer: no stuffing. Low frequencies will go through everything
    -ported full range: pad all walls with wegde moulded polyether foam to suppress standing waves (resonances)
    -closed cab: stuff entire cabinet loosely with polyester BAF wadding to suppress standing waves and increase the effective internal box volume. This does NOT work for ported cabinets.

Always make sure cones can move free, even after years of (ab)use

Keep at least 5 inches away from internal port openings.

Carpet is bad. Soft wadding is good for stuffing, wegde foam is good for wall padding.