1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Cabinet Suitable for LH1000

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by TheAnonymousCMG, Oct 9, 2013.

1. TheAnonymousCMG

TheAnonymousCMG

Oct 9, 2013
    Hey there,
    So I'm completely new to these forums, as well as gigging as a bassist in general (normally a six-stringer when I'm out and about, but joined a band as their bassist and I freaking love it.). Anyway,I traded a guitar amp I was no longer using for a Hartke LH1000 head, and have realized that despite my years of being a musician, I have little to no understanding of Ohms, as well as RMS vs. Continuous Power etc., so this has left me in a bind. I have a nice bass head, but don't know what cabinet to purchase for use with it. I'm trying to not go overboard cost-wise ($300 to $500 ABSOLUTE maximum), so I've been looking mostly at Peavey and Fender 410 cabinets, but again, I don't understand most stuff regarding power ratings and Ohms. Bottom line: I want something that is going to allow me to be heard in the mix of my band in a live setting, that I'm not going to destroy by powering it incorrectly. Any suggestions?
    -Christopher

2. Try to download the user manual, if I remember correctly it is very well explained.

3. Your best bet would be a used hartke hydrive 410.

4. ArtechnikA

ArtechnikA I endorsed a check once... Gold Supporting Member

Feb 24, 2013
    SEPA
    The Harkte HyDrive is rated for 1000W but it's 8 Ohms - the LH1000 makes 750W (bridged, max) into 8 Ohms. This will still be really loud... However, the HyDrive is also way over your budget... Used could be an option but $400 would be a coup...