Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CrapBass, Apr 11, 2004.

1. CrapBass

Mar 11, 2004
    Mckinney TX

Recently I have been searching around for a new guitar and amp. I will be mowing lawn ALL summer and will make approximately $1000. I have decided I want a Ibanez SRX-500 Bass, and I am still looking around for a bigger better amp *prefferably a smaller cab* And today I was looking around Music123 and came across a Hartke VX-410 cab, and a Behringer Ultrabass BX3000T. The Hartke is rated to handle 400W and the Behringer is about 300W power. I also ready many good reviews on both products. Both of them together will cost me about $455. I personally think this is what I want to buy, but if you guys have any insights or opinions on either of these please let me know.

2. CrapBass

Mar 11, 2004
    Mckinney TX
    Can no one help me? I am a beginner bassist, and I dont have much experience or know much about amps. :(
  3. jock

Jun 7, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    That Hartke is not the greatest cab. Check out Avatar speakers if you have a tight budget.
    With Behringer you get what you pay for... :bag:
  4. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    Hey is some "help".

Reviews are great, and you did a good job checking that out before you buy. However, each reviewer submits a review based on their ears, situation, room size, and experience. Reviews are just one effective way of evaluating gear.

The best way is to find a music store, and play on the gear before you buy it. If you don't know much about bass, it would be a mistake to just buy something out of a catalog or online without trying it out first.

5. CrapBass

Mar 11, 2004
    Mckinney TX
    Yeah, thats what happened to me with the stupid guitar and amp I am stuck with for now. Rogue sucks...
    So that is why I am gonna try to find a music store somewhere and play on it. Thanks for your advice.
  6. csholtmeier

Feb 8, 2004
    omaha, ne