Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

cabinets, heads - what are you on about?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by agyeman, Jun 17, 2001.

1. agyeman

agyeman Member

Mar 6, 2001
    I am a complete newbie when it comes to bass amps. I have a small practice combo amp, and have only used combo amps at practice rooms.

What is a basic cabinet, speaker, head thing setup? What do i need for a system i can start with and then improve as i progress?

2. xHarperx

xHarperx

May 8, 2001
    stacks are good cause if you wana up grade you don't have to throw out the whole box!! one thing that I found is that if you get a cheep head with power (yorkvile 400 wich I have and love will run you about $500 new) but the thing that I sugest is start with a GOOD (ampeg, messa ect. no yorkville, SWR crap) 2x10 cab or something that can be added too because most of the quality of sound comes from your cab trust me I've played cheep heads, good head, cheep cabs, and good cabs and as long as you have a good cab you'll sound awsome!!

3. Well, here i am to translate.
    You will probably want a stack when you start playing gigs and/or practices with loud drummers/guitarists.
    They consist of a head and a cabinet (or more).
    The head is the amplifier, which as you probably know amplifies and helps you shape your tone. The cabinet consists of the speakers, encased in a wooden "cabinet".
    If you want to get a stack setup, I would recommend that you check how much cash you have and where you will be playing. They are connected by a cable and there it is!