Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Cables...does it matter that much..?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by KlarkKent, Jun 28, 2002.

1. KlarkKent

KlarkKent

Dec 17, 2001
    Los Angeles
    Hey guys,

Purchasing several cables for my rig...

1) Bass guitar to pre-amp,
    2) Pre-amp to Power amp
    3) Power amp to Cabinet, (That will depend on the cab I get, which will be within a week)
    4) Tuner to ???????( I need some advice here....actually...a rack tuner, does that go through the effects loop or before/after the pre-amp).

So, I'm not a complete novice here, I know they are all going to be 1/4 inchers, or maybe a speakon, but I have never put together a componant system. There's a variety of cables from "good" to Tara Labs, and everything in between.

So, what are the crucial connections that need a Tara Lab or a Monster Cable, ...that will make a signifigant difference in sound. I have some dough but I'm not rich and I don't want to over do it . Whats your experience/advice.

2. Listen

Listen

May 19, 2002
    yeah, i bought a cable, and every time i would step on it, it would crackle and pop, just buy a decent one, nothin fancy

3. narud

narud Supporting Member

Mar 15, 2001
    santa maria,california
    im torn when i comes to cable. i dont want to believe it makes a difference but my ears tell me different. i went to the la bass exchange and took my fretless fbass 5 string. i played through an ebs hd 350 and a berg 310. i played using my el cheapo Ernie Ball cable the cheaper grade tara labs cable(which wasnt cheap) and the more expensive tara labs. i couldnt hear a difference between the two tara labs but could hear a huge difference between the tara labs and my ernie ball cable. more low end and a clearer top end. i still didnt buy the cable but i might pick one up eventually.

4. Andrew Jones

Andrew Jones Banned