1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Cabronita mod?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Owen Bacon, Oct 23, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Owen Bacon

Owen Bacon

Jul 27, 2015
    Oregon
    So Recently the fender cabronita precision has caught my eye. Its a cool looking and sounding bass. But in my opinion, it has too much low end. Do you think i could mod it to have a j pickup in the bridge position? Its worth saying that it is a rear rout, and i have limited modding experience.

Or if i want to be really saucy, move the fideltron up so that its touching then neck and add some pj pups where it once was?

2. JohnPativens

JohnPativens

Sep 20, 2005
    Italy
    Not worth it IMO. The Cabronita has slightly more low end compared to a regular PBass but you can easily deal with that eq'ing from your amp or some stompbox preamp. It has plenty of mids too.

3. Eilif

Eilif Supporting Member

Oct 1, 2001
    Chicago
    Worth it if you can afford to have it properly done. Routing for a new pickup when you don't have a pickguard to hide the route is a task to be taken by someone with real woodworking skills or a luthier. That said, if you have the cash there's not much reason not too. Folks add J's to P's all the time, why not add it to a Cab?

One other option would be to put a dual coil pickup in there and wire it for a coil tap to give it a slightly less deep option.

Lastly, if the stock Cab pickup is a 4 wire, you could just wire it for coil tap. If you wanted to go crazy, you could use a 3 position switch for Series (normal), Parallel and single coil. There's some folks in the "Cabronita club" topic that could probably tell you if this is possible.

4. Owen Bacon

Owen Bacon

Jul 27, 2015
    Oregon
    Thanks for the input. I will check out that forum.

5. Eilif

Eilif Supporting Member