1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Can a B15-N rock?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Volume4, Oct 15, 2009.

1. Volume4

Volume4

Sep 15, 2009
    Long Island
    Hi,

I'm not concerned with playing with a band, I play at home alone and may start jamming alone with a drummer friend in a gargage like I used to.

I am picking up for the first time in years, so I have some experience with amps.

I owned a B100R before and it did rock pretty well, I could do Sabbath with it no problem. I also used to live through a Sansamp Bass DI through a Power wedge....not bad.

I'm a huge OM/Sleep fan and trying to get a good tube sound but at reasonable volumes....I just saw OM twice this week and gone were the Green amps, just an Ampeg SVT and a Slave power amp.

So I'm definitely looking for an SVT sound but want something to react to pedals also.

I've heard good things about the Micro SVT and it has an effects loop, so I think I could also put a Tech21 VT pedal there and bypass the preamp....although I hear the designed preamp does a pretty good SVT emulation.

I'm going to use a 1x15" cab no matter what and a pedal or two besides thr VT

The Orange Bass Terror looks interesting, but I don't like that it has a digital power section. The Ampeg SVT3-Pro looks interesting but too complicated and more features/options than I need.

I'm also considering an EBS Valvedrive for dirt at lower volumes.

I'm rambling, but I'm thinking a combo of 1x15" cab, Micro SVT, VT pedal and EBS Valvedrive will cover my needs.

And back to my original question, I'm intrigued what a B15-N with some good tubes pushed hard up front with a pedal could do for me. It's the only low powered all tube bass amp I could find.....or I may consider a guitar amp through the 1x15" bass cab. Someone here made some sweet music with a Tiny Terror guitar head and bass.