Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Can a Walter Woods get lound and funky?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Mario Lewis, Aug 4, 2005.

1. Mario Lewis

Mario Lewis

Jul 6, 2001
    Clinton, MD
    I'm considering a WW 1200 watt integrated head, but the nay sayers are telling me that (1) for aggressive funk with a lot of slapping and what not, the Woods AIN'T the amp. A DB750 would be better ( and mildly cheaper) and....(2) the Woods are better for upright and (3) while 1200 W is nothing to blink at, it's not a STRONG 1200.... not sure what that means....

Any thoughts any one? Can a Woods handle High Demand stuff dependably? Will the tone just not be right for Patrice Rushen's "Forget Me Not" or Cheryl Lynn's "Got To Be Real" or THe Brother's Johnson's "Strawberry Letter 23"?

2. I've been funking with a WW Ultra for many years. It's a great amp, gets plenty loud, and is ultra reliable. However... whether it's due to the switching power supply, the way the preamp is voiced, internal filters... not sure... (there's been threads on this before)... it does not wump out the low end like amps I own with big traditional analog power supply. My Thunderfunk550 gets every bit as loud as my Walter Woods Ultra, and I actually prefer that when I'm on gigs requiring 'old school funk' technique and tone. The bottom is a little fatter and seems to project a lot better out into the room.

The WW is a very 'dry' sounding amp. That's not a bad thing... it is what it is. I wouldn't necessarily call it flat, but it is very precise. His older models had a lot more 'tube-like' warmth. His newer models (as of about 10 years ago) are much more modern and very clean.

The 750 is a great amp, but I wouldn't say it's voiced, etc. that great for funk playing... and it weighs a ton (great amp though).