Can Anyone Help Me Here

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by OneLuvIbanez, Aug 29, 2001.

1. OneLuvIbanez

OneLuvIbanez Guest

Jul 28, 2001
    Chicago, IL
    OK, Ive been playing bass now consistanly for about 4 months, all together though i have been playing for about a year, but bout 4 months consistanatly practicing. I am pretty much self taught, i never really had the money for lessons, and i didnt pay for my first ever bass. My thing though, I picked up on playing very quickly, i do not know many scales, but i can play a song within an hour of just listening to it. What my main problem is, is i cant get my fingerstyle to increase in speed along with my fretboard hand, if that makes any sense. i can do it with a pick, and can even keep up with RHCP songs, and am very creative on my own stuff, but i just cant get my playing hand to move fast enough, i try to compare where im at along with friends who also play, and they seem to be able to get faster. Thoguh they've been playing for longer time, they say im at the point they were after playing for bout 9 months.

Does anyone here have any tips on how I can improve my fingerstyle, maybe even my Slap and pick also? i think the problem might have lied in me trying to learn to many styles at one time, I incorperate Slap, fingerstyle, Pick, Slap n Pick and tapping(the style the bassist from Primus uses) into all my music, But id like to hear what you all have to think, I Appreciate any info that would help me at all. Much love & Respect to all bass players out there, We are a rear breed.:cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :confused: :confused: :confused:
  2. APouncer

Nov 3, 2000
    Lancashire, UK
    Please do not include me in your gang - I assure you, I am not "a rear breed" - maybe you should check out the thread on farting!

Seriously, all anyone can suggest is keep practicing, as many styles as often as possible - good luck, it's definitely worth the effort!
  3. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000