Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Can anyone offer me some highend 6 string bass suggestions?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Cory, Feb 17, 2005.

1. Cory

Cory

May 16, 2004
    TEXAS
    Hello everyone,
    I am a professional bassist that is looking to add a nice highend 6 string bass to my gear collection. This bass would mainly be used for studio work.....every now and then some live work. I have played Sadowsky basses since 1990 and have loved every moment. If Roger built a six string, I'd own it as well......problem is as you know.....he doesn't make one! I have several of Roger's basses but I mainly play a vintage 4 for the J sound or a 24 fret 5 string with EMG's for the modern tone. Every now and then I'll play a Sadowsky PJ or a fretless but not too often. Can anyone offer a suggestion as to what bass would be as close to the punchy sadowsky sound as I can get?? Also can anyone tell me about the Ken Smith BSR 6P or the elite series neck through basses?? Experience with these would help me a lot. I have been told by a few friends to look at Ken Smith's basses. I play all styles of music....everything from Jazz to Rock to playing in Broadway shows. I'd like to get a bass that has a wide variety of tones. Thanks for your imput. Cory

2. Dan Knowlton

Dan Knowlton Out of my mind, back in 5 minutes! Supporting Member

I'd recommend a Ken Lawrence but I'm VERY prejudiced about mine! I can't quite get a P-bass sound, but it can come close depending on my technique. Everything else, it gets and the comfort level playing it is great.
    [​IMG]
    Dan K.

3. Hi!!

For a punchy, growly sound, F Bass would suit very well!!
    Ash Body, maple neck and FB!!
    A very big range of sounds available, and a vintage tone...
    http://www.fbass.com/images/im000021a.jpg
    Vince

4. Pickebass

Pickebass Supporting Member

Jul 12, 2004
    San Antonio, TX