Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Can anyone shed some light on Peavey Milleniums?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Magneto, Jan 7, 2004.

1. Hi forum,

I guess you can see that I'm a newbie here.

I've been doing some research on a low-priced 4-string to get my feet wet again. I've been away for too long.

I was checking into some Peavey basses, and I keep running into different models of Millenium basses. One is an inexpensive 200 dollar BXP-4, quilt-top, passive gear, but others are higher-priced active rigs that sell for much more.

My local Peavey dealer didn't even know of the newer BXP 4 and 5s. Can anyone shed any light on the significant differences between these? Or perhaps point me somewhere where I can find the info?

If anyone owns one, I could sure a reliable hands-on review of the quality of the instrument.

Thanks..

Mag...

2. I checked the Millenium BXP series basses out at a dealer here in Canada and I have to say from what I can tell, they are a REALLY good value for an inexpensive 4 or 5. They are all 21 fret basses, passive J/J pickup configuration, 34" scale, and have a quilt top in 3 or 4 different colors. The 5 string that I played was OK on the low B, but I found it to have a couple of dead spots on the E and B strings, but that's fairly forgivable on a bass this cheap ($280 CDN for the 5 string). The 4 string was VERY impressive, and played very well, and sounded pretty strong for a definite entry level bass. They do however look GREAT, and seem to play pretty well, however I did notice the fret edges were a bit sharp on one of them. This is pretty common up here, especially in the winter when there is zero humidity, so I'd chalk it up to the weather more than the manufacturer, since I played a few of these basses and only one had noticeably sharp fret edges.