1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Can Carvin pickups be replaced?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by william campbel, Apr 18, 2010.

1. william campbel

william campbel

Apr 18, 2010
    I have been reading up on Carvin basses and everyone seems to agree on the quality, but there is quite a bit of disagreement to the sound. I am new to basses and wanted to know, why can't someone replace the pickups with something more to their liking?

2. markkoelsch

markkoelsch

Sep 6, 2008

You can replace them.

The jazz pickup are just that...jazz pickups. Specifically, like many others, they went to using two bridge length pickups. The issue, especially with the 6 string basses, is that the strings are fairly close to the pickup edge, so you need the correct replacement pickup. I think it was Bartolini who makes the 69J1 long/long LN/L, which is a direct replacement.

Carvin also uses the Musicman type dual coil, and there are many manufacturers who make those.

They also have the soapbar pickups for the Icons (and other basses). They appear to be pretty close to the same dimensions as the Seymour Duncan Phase 1 soapbars,

You can also upgrade the electronics/preamp. I am looking into this myself. I think I might do this before the pickups. Maybe a nice Aguilar preamp.

Hope that helps some

3. bass4worship

bass4worship Ready For Freddy, let rock Supporting Member

May 4, 2009
    Sebring, Florida
    I do it all the time, just keep the old one if you sell, most what the original back in.

4. baron665

baron665

Apr 9, 2010
    Michigan
    I don't see why not. Some guy on youtube swapped out ones on his guitar.

5. Hi.

If You're talking about the 80's vintage Carvins with the "guitar humbucker" style hex pole-piece ones, your options may be somewhat more limited.

The more common ones: MM, P, J, etc. should be easy direct swaps.

Regards
    sam