Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Can I add a cab to a combo?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by APouncer, Sep 25, 2001.

1. APouncer

APouncer

Nov 3, 2000
    Lancashire, UK
    This may sound a ridiculous question as I know next to nothing about amps.

I have been gigging with different bands on BG for around 3 years (and on G for a previous 4). I have played gigs with "Indie-Rock" outfits, small vocal restaurant groups, singalong pub groups but mainly with "Acid-Jazz" groups.

For amplification I have always either just gone into the PA and used the monitors, sometimes used big Cabinets if another band had brought one along, sometimes even just used my Fender BXR60 for smaller gigs (yes, even with the drummer) and still don't have to crank it up (we are fairly chilled and quiet).

Problem - the rest of the band want us to start playing louder and are watching bands whose bass-players have a massive solid tone and the impact they make on stage with a loud sound all round (whereas I'm happy being quiet as I think it makes people listen, I concur that when a band hits a first note on stage and your guts wobble, it is impressive). I think my tone isn't like theirs due to my ability, or lack thereof, they reckon it's due to equipment, or lack thereof. I'm wondering if there is a cheap method to boost volume, ie add a cab to the Fender BXR60 and whether you guys think that my lack of massive tone is the equipment not my fingers (my fretting hand and note-knowledge is good due to G for 10 years, I just keep blaming my right (plucking) hand).

Thanks guys.

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    I don't know that model, but I doubt you can add another cab, and even if you can, it won't give enough power.

You need a major upgrade, I'm afraid.