Can I convert an input channel from a snake into a send channel from the board?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by LowNloud1, Aug 21, 2017.

1. LowNloud1

LowNloud1 Commercial User

Jun 11, 2012
    Wilmington NC
    I am a hobbyist making stone picks that I sell but mostly give away. They made me do this anyways.
    I am not technically savvy but I heard from a sound guy that it can be done. I suspect a sound guy we use occasionally does not know.

My problem is that this one sound guy uses 2 sends to feed a signal to his subwoofers.

Because he uses 2 of the 4 sends, we are forced to set our wireless transmitters by the mix board so we can drop 4 monitor feeds to our IEM transmitters off the mixboard. The problem is that people get between us and the signal and we are getting signals drops.

We'd really like to put the transmitters on stage with us and use the sends for our IEMs.

Does anyone know if an input from the mixboard be made into a send? (We have XLR sex change adapters) We are using a PreSonus StudioLive 16.

2. LowNloud1 likes this.
  3. walterw

walterw Supportive Fender Commercial User

Feb 20, 2009
    alpha-music.com
    sems silly, subs only need to be mono, one send should be enough.

regardless, it's a trivial matter to use turnarounds ("sex changers", hee hee :)) to make a mic channel on a snake serve as a monitor send going the other direction. you'll just need one at both ends for each channel you use to send monitors back down the snake.

HolmeBass, s0c9, LowNloud1 and 2 others like this.
  4. LowNloud1

LowNloud1 Commercial User

Jun 11, 2012
    Wilmington NC
    I am a hobbyist making stone picks that I sell but mostly give away. They made me do this anyways.
    Thanks guys. I'll give it a try and see if I can show him how to do it.

5. GunsandGuitars

GunsandGuitars Commercial User

Aug 1, 2017
    Youtube.com/gunsandguitars