Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Can I get a decent start w/ my budget?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by degroove, Feb 17, 2004.

1. degroove

degroove

Jun 5, 2002
    Wilmington, DE
    Greetings!

I am a newbie propsect. I have checked out the newbie links and am considering renting un URB to see if I am going to be interested in learning the instrument. I will most likely take some lessons to get the fundamentals while renting, as I have been playing electric bass for 10 years now, but realize the technique is vastly different.

I am looking for a basss that would be fairly versatile (rock, blues, folk, jazz), would be decent quality-wise, and would be a good "starter" upright. I realize that I may be able to land a low level hybrid, but most likely not a carved.

My budget for an URB would be about $2,000 if I decided to get one. I know that I could get a top-of-the-line ES9 Swing Master set up (by Lemur) for about $2,000. A lot of people comment about not wasting money on a bass that will be tough to unload if you don't like or play it and need tons of money poured into it to get it to sound good. Would this be considered a bass in this not a smart idea class?

Would the Swing Master be a good choice for me? How much, rule of thumb, does one have to spend to get a decent starter instrument?

Thanks, so much! Matt...

2. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    Nothing wrong with a Swingmaster. I had one. After all the setup was done, it was a fine bass. I just listened to a live recording I did with it last year. I was reminded that was a good sounding plywood. I will say this: You stick out like a sore thumb with a giant, shiny blond bass. Whether that is a good thing or bad, only you can decide.

Engelhardts are also a joy to play.