1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Can I gig with a Markbass CMD 151P Jeff Berlin?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Julian Delphiki, Jan 27, 2019.

1. Julian Delphiki

Julian Delphiki

Jan 24, 2019
    Kentucky
    Hey folks. I am a guitarist who is in the process of learning to play bass.

I have an opportunity to get a used CMD 151P Jeff Berlin from a local guy for roughly $500. I recently purchased my first bass from a TB'er and I am looking for my first amp. I was wondering if I'd be able to gig with a combo with these specs? I understand that it is expandable with an additional cab.

My other option is a Markbass Little Marcus 800 that I might be able to get a good deal on, which I would then need to trade one of my guitar amps in for a Markbass 4x10. Either way I'll need to sell some guitar gear to afford these options.

Sorry if this is a total noob question, but which option would you pursue and why?

Thanks!

JimHouchin likes this.
  2. arbiterusa

arbiterusa

Sep 24, 2015
    San Diego, CA
    Welcome, firstly.

Yeah, the Berlin is quite giggable. And with an extension, you could do pretty much anything that wouldn't call for FOH support anyhow.

Now, for bass more power is always better. The LM800 (Marcus or not, it's the same amp) has more power than you will ever use. That and the Mark 4x10 front ported model...you could do anything and be LOUD.

What would I do? Well, I use a separate head/4x10 arrangement (sometimes 2 15s) and both those work nicely. I have a lot of room to be flexible. But the price on that Berlin is nice, and were I doing it again with an eye towards being practical that would probably be what I'd get - combo and extension speaker.

Aqualung60 and Julian Delphiki like this.