1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Can I give lessons with limited reading ability, and almost no slap skills?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by COOL AND DEADLY, Apr 17, 2010.

1. I have been playing for 7 years, took some lessons, attended camps, etc. My theory is pretty good, I can read a little bit, i can't slap well at all.
    I would like to start teaching nooby bass players.
    Do you think I should have a basic mastery of slap and have my reading down pat before I start to look for students?
    I have certainly got by so far with limited reading and no slap, but I've been working on those areas, because it seems to me non-bass player's evaluation on how good a bassist is is synonymous with how well they slap. I don't care what anyone thinks, except for the fact that I'd like prospective students to respect my skill set, and what I do have to offer.

So should I try to start teaching now, or should I wait until I progress as a reader and slapper?

2. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    Teachers teach what they know. If you have information you can share that is useful, you can teach. Most dedicated players will have more than one teacher anyway.

3. i do feel I have useful information, and am a pretty good communicator. So, I could start now, and by the time my slapping and reading catches up, I'll have that much more experience teaching.

4. BassyBill

BassyBill The smooth moderator... Gold Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2005
    West Midlands UK
    Just a quick caveat added, Doc, but an important one, imo.