Can i still get that "Deep,wide,felt" tone with a pick?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Vacume, Mar 8, 2006.

1. Vacume

Jan 11, 2006
    I play in a metal band and I first played with 2 fingers but the riffs are getting faster so I started playing with 3 fingers and im getting pretty good, but I have a much easier time keeping up with a pick. But the deep tone that you kind of feel more then hear is a big part of our sound and I heard with the pick u are "heard more" but with fingers you are "felt" more. So can i still get the tone I want from a pick?
  2. barthanatos

barthanatos Insert witty comment here

Feb 8, 2006
    South Carolina
    That's funny... at first I thought you were going to say something about a plectrum made of the material "felt". 'Cause they use those on, like, autoharps or something. Maybe one of those would be more similar to fingers, though...
  3. Why don´t you try playing with your fingers closer to the bridge, there the strings don´t vibrate to much and you can play faster. I have a metal band too, and that´s what I do.
  4. seanm

seanm I'd kill for a Nobel Peace Prize! Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    So did I. I have used a felt pick. It is somewhere between fingers and a hard pick in sound. However, it would probably be slower than both since the felt seems to slow you down.
  5. Vacume

Jan 11, 2006
    Well i dont think i could play much closer to the bridge, when i play with 3 fingers my ring finger is about 10 cm away from the bridge, if i went any closer I wouldnt have anywhere to put my thumb because i rest it on the pick up
  6. g00eY

Sep 17, 2005
    Chicago, IL

you're picking hand rests on the nut?
  7. emor

May 16, 2004
  8. Nico3535

Mar 8, 2006