Can i use a low power amp with a much higher rated cabinet?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sir Bassington, Oct 31, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Hello this is a noob question, but i am a noob.

There is a Hartke 4x10 hydrive 1000w at 8ohms for sale near me for a great price and i intend to buy it. I will also need to buy a head, the biggest i can afford is the Hartke HA2500 which is 250w at 4 ohm and 175w at 8 ohm, the cab is 8 ohm. Will it be ok to use this relatively small amp with such a beast of a cabinet or will the amp not supply enough output for the speakers to work properly? probably wont be using all of the volume for what i will use it for maybe volume 2,3,4/10. i have read multiple posts around on the web and they all contradict so im looking for a tech guru to give me the definitive answer

Any help is greatly appreciated. :)

2. Ah, the old under powering speakers fallacy that refuses to die. You'll be fine.

3. Thanks for your help, looks like new rig for me :D

4. RoadRanger

RoadRanger Supporting Member

Feb 18, 2004
    NE CT
    Yah - I have to buy a new 'fridge every time I rehearse with my 30w Ashdown CTM-30 (NOT ;) !)

5. The Regulator

The Regulator

Aug 10, 2005
    For a few more bucks you can double your wattage with a Hartke LH500.

spaz21387, leonard and jmbjandfam like this.
  6. Tech here! Guru? Eh!
    Philonius, nailed the answer. I second it.
    Think about it like this...
    Lets say you have a combo amp.
    Clearly the amp is matched to the speaker.
    The amp's volume knob goes from zero to 10.
    When you turn the amp up from zero to say around 1/2, halfway up to 1, you are essentially underpowering the speaker significantly. But it works just fine. Right?
    800 watt speaker cab and a 10 watt amp... No problem.
    The spec's for speaker wattage are max watts you should use.
    200 watt speaker cab... 100 watt amp... No problem.