Can one get great low end out of a Rick?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Skel, Jun 19, 2005.

1. Skel

Jun 19, 2005
    Boulder, Colorado
    Hello all,

I am a guitarist switched over to bassist. I currently have a Mexican Fender Precision, a Rick 4003, and a MusicMan Stingray. My amp(s) are an Ampeg B2R into an SVT410HLF cabinet, along with a BA115 that I am, at some point, going to try running in stereo with the B2R for hopefully more lowend. So far, the Stingray is my newest bass and is going back - just too "clicky" sounding - I think one's technique has to be much better than mine to make these sound good. The Rick is my favorite bass, but being in a 3 piece band I have found the Precison to be almost crucial to the band's sound because of the thick, deep bottom end. I was wondering if anybody knows if I am just hearing things? It seems like the Rick (I use both pickups - everthing full up) is not as loud as the Precision, and would something like an SVT-4 PRO, or maybe something like a Gallien-Krueger, or SWR with 2X15's give the Rick that deep bottom end while maintaining the nice mids and highs that I loose with the Precison? Last, especially with the Precision I notice that some notes are quite a bit louder than others (i.e., the E on the 7th fret A string is really loud, almost any notes on the D and G strings are not loud enough). Maybe somebody could give me some ideas as to how to set the 9 band EQ, the gain & volumes on the B2R, and the cabinet tweeter for the best possible tone for both the Precision and the Rick. I guess I would certainly entertain any ideas on the Stingray as well before I return it.

2. Skel

Jun 19, 2005
    Boulder, Colorado
    BTW - my Mexican Precision is black, had a white pickguard until yesterday when my new custom $75.00 pickguard (kind of a black & white zebra thang) came in. Now I can honestly say I have *the* ugliest, most offensive bass guitar on the planet. I hope I can somehow turn this into a good thing!