Can playing six string guitar make you "lose" your bass skills?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by OakenZero, Dec 17, 2002.

1. Okay, this is a sort of ridiculous question, but it has run through my mind.

I just ordered a Les Paul Studio for Christmas because I'm getting a little more into writing music and expanding my horizons in general. I plan on splitting practice time between bass and "regular" guitar, and was just curious if any of you have found that the shorter fretboard and other things make a difference in your bass playing. Or does playing both make your dexterity a little better overall?
  2. when i started playing electric(which was after starting bass), i kinda stopped bass for about 3-4 months. when i picked up the ol' girl, i wasnt nearly as good. but, i soon realised its like riding a bike, you can never forget, just get a little rusty. after playing bass again for about an hour i got back in, and can now play both quite well IMO.

so to answer your question, you may lose your skill, but it can be easily reaquired. i dont even notice the different sized frets or anything anymore. i just must go to a seperate mindframe for different instruments...
  3. beermonkey

Sep 26, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    As long as you don't put your bass down and stop playing it entirely, there isn't any reason playing guitar will hinder your ability to play bass... but I must admit that a guitar feels like a toy in my hands next to a bass due to the size differences between the two. :)
  4. jasonbraatz

Oct 18, 2000
    Oakland, CA